What are you going to eat now that you know you need to be dairy free?

The good news is that there are many delicious foods that do not contain dairy.  So there is never a reason to feel deprived.

This list pertains to items purchased directly from your grocery store. When eating at restaurants, always inform your server if you have an allergy or tell your server that you are dairy free. Butter, cream, sour cream and milk are often added to restaurant meals for flavor and richness. Always ask questions!

Always, always read labels. People need to be dairy free for a variety of reasons.  It is important to be an advocate for your own and your family’s health. Always read labels, even on products that you buy on a regular basis, as the manufacturers may change ingredients at any time. If you have any questions regarding milk ingredients in a product, contact the manufacturer for clarification.

From my own experience, I have found that the closer a food is to its natural and organic state, the better off you will be. I live by the rule of thumb – when in doubt, leave it out.

Naturally Dairy Free Foods

All fresh fruits and vegetables

All fresh plain meats, fish & poultry

All fresh plain seafood

Coconut – shredded, water and oil

Coffee and tea – black

Dried beans, peas, & lentils

Eggs – prepared without milk

Jellies, jams and preserves – 100%  pure

Juices – 100% natural

Nuts & seeds, raw, any types

Oatmeal – plain

Peanut butter and other nut butters – 100% plain

Popcorn – kernels only prepared without butter – not microwavable

Quinoa – white, red and tri-colored, plain

Raisins, dates and figs

Rice, cashew, almond and other milk alternatives

Rice – plain white, brown, wild

Salsa

Spices – pure, single spices, not blends

Sugars – granulated, brown, turbinado (raw,) powdered

Tofu – plain

Vinegars – balsamic, rice wine, apple cider, malt vinegar